Our History Continues

Everette Logan, of Wayland Baptist Church, Reverend Darneal Johnson, Pastor, succeeded President Gee. He enlarged upon the Retreats for officers and leaders, expanded Institutes in many churches, organized travel groups to encourage Congress attendance, and reorganized the Youth Retreat to become a camping experience. He also instituted the Junior High Rally into the Convention’s program. The Constitution was rewritten and Convention officers were voted tenure.

President Logan was succeeded by the incumbent, Charles Coger, after five years of service. The new President brought to this office many fine attributes which enhanced the operations of the Convention. He was a member of the Youth Activities Committee that planned many of the successful retreats at Morgan State. As President of the Convention, he continued to work closely with this group. It is here that the work has expanded under his administration. The youth had and still have many of the activities started under his administration. These include a Youth Banquet, a Superintendents' Breakfast, and a BTU Directors' Luncheon. Among other things, he has given a "new face" to the Annual Fellowship Dinner. It is now the major fund-raising activity. The Bicentennial Year Dinner was the largest to date with more than 1,000 persons in attendance and a record number of people receiving awards.